Public Safety Management Scholarships

Earn a Career as a First Responder or a High-level Safety Professional

Public safety, which is usually a function of government, means the provisions made for keeping a population protected. The population in question is often that of a city, state, or even the United States as a whole. Every large municipality or other organization (like a college or corporation) has a department called Emergency Management, Disaster Preparedness, Homeland Security, or something similar, and as a public safety manager that’s where you’re likely to find employment.

You’ll learn how to make successful large-scale preparations in the event of situations like natural disasters (such as floods, storms, and earthquakes) or manmade hazards (chemical spills, large power outages, school shootings) and how to lead a team through scripted responses while surmounting unexpected obstacles like contractors who fail to deliver bottled water or communication problems between different responding units. This career requires a great deal of responsibility, but you’ll always find yourself in demand.

public safety management scholarships

Scholarships From Colleges

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

The Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA) offers a degree in public safety management and a number of undergraduate scholarships suited to students pursuing that degree. Here are three examples of what you will find:

Arkansas Tech University

Arkansas Tech University’s Department of Emergency Management hands out the Ed Leachman Emergency Management Scholarship to undergraduates and graduate students. To be eligible, you must be a member of the International Association of Emergency Managers and prove financial need. You must submit an essay describing how the scholarship will further your career.

Scholarships From Private Organizations

Maryland Emergency Management Association

The Maryland Emergency Management Association provides five Maryland Emergency Management Association Scholarships every year, each for $1,000, to students from the five geographical areas of the state (Western, Central, Eastern, Southern, and National Capital). You must be a senior in high school, one of the accepted college majors is Occupational and Public Safety, and the scholarship money will go directly to your school.

Michigan Public Risk Management Association

The Michigan Public Risk Management Association (the Michigan chapter of the national association) offers two scholarships for students who are at least juniors in college and majoring in public service disciplines like Occupational and Public Safety. Undergraduate applicants must maintain at least a 2.8 GPA, and graduate students must have a 3.2. You must demonstrate financial need, and students who work part-time during the year are preferred.

With your application, you’ll submit a transcript, resume, summary of your career goals, and explain why you’re applying for the scholarship. Here are your two choices:

The amount of each award varies between $750 and $2,000, depending on available funds and the number of qualifying students.

International Public Safety Leadership & Ethics Institute

The International Public Safety Leadership & Ethics Institute, in conjunction with the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, has established the Richard L. Resurreccion Public Safety Scholarship for students in certain associate degree programs given by community colleges. A degree in public safety is included. There are two scholarships for $1,000 each, and your school’s program director will need to certify your application.

Association of Public Safety Communications Officials International

The Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International has set up two scholarship funds that pay for training in a public safety program at Jacksonville State University (JSU). JSU’s Emergency Management program includes courses grouped under the APCO Institute and APCO Virtual College divisions, tuition for which the following two awards will pay: